The Panel

Gordon Kaiser
First Canadian Chambers, Toronto

Gordon Kaiser is  Counsel in energy and competition law practising in Toronto and Calgary.

He is a former vice chair of the Ontario Energy Board and a former Market Surveillance Administrator in Alberta.  Prior to that he was a partner in a national law firm where he appeared in the courts of five provinces , the Federal Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court of Canada.

Gordon has advised the Alberta Utility Commission and the Ontario Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) on settlements under the Electricity Act and the Attorney General of Canada on settlements under the Competition Act.  He has acted in disputes dealing with transmission and pipeline facilities, power purchase agreements, gas supply contracts, and wind and solar contracts. He is the editor of Energy Law and Policy and The Guide to Energy Arbitration.  For one year Gordon was Visiting Professor in Law and Economics at the University of Toronto Faculty of law. He is currently Co-Chair of the Canadian Energy Law Forum, Editor of the Energy Regulation Quarterly and President of the Canadian Chapter of The Energy Bar Association.

Neil Campbell
McMillan LLP

Neil is the co-chair of McMillan’s Competition and International Trade Groups and a partner in the Energy Group, based in Toronto. Neil’s energy law practice focuses on electricity market issues including in relation to generation, loads, renewables / conservation, procurement contracts, imports / exports and regulatory matters; as well as competition and foreign investment issues in the oil and gas sector.  He is the former chair of the Ontario Energy Board’s Market Surveillance Panel (2007-2012). Neil’s trade law practice includes anti-dumping and subsidy proceedings, export controls, sanctions, and international trade agreements. He is a member of the roster of panelists for trade remedy binational panel dispute settlement proceedings under Chapter 10 of the US Mexico Canada Agreement (USMCA).

Neil’s competition law practice includes representation of clients in merger, unilateral conduct, cartel and class action litigation, as well as foreign investment reviews under the Investment Canada Act.  He represented the Phillips and Lite-on defendants in Pioneer Corp v. Godfrey, the leading Supreme Court of Canada case that establishes the framework for certification of competition class actions.  He is particularly experienced in energy, financial services, healthcare, pharmaceuticals/chemicals, transportation, and other regulated sectors . Neil is the Global Contributing Editor for the Cartel Regulation desk book, a former co-chair of the IBA Antitrust Section and a member of the Executive of the CBA Competition and Foreign Investment Review Section.

Adonis Yatchew
University of Toronto
Editor-in-Chief, The Energy Journal

Adonis Yatchew’s research focuses on energy and regulatory economics, and econometrics. Since completing his Ph.D. at Harvard University, he has taught at the University of Toronto. He has also held visiting appointments at the University of Chicago, Trinity College, Cambridge, and Australian National University, among others. He has written a graduate level text on semiparametric regression techniques published by Cambridge University Press.

He has served in various editorial capacities at The Energy Journal since 1995 and is currently the Editor-in-Chief. He has advised public and private sector companies on energy, regulatory and other matters for over 30 years and has provided testimony in numerous regulatory and litigation procedures.

Currently he teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in energy economics, graduate courses in econometrics and ‘Big Ideas’ courses on energy and the environment with colleagues in physics and classics. In June 2018 the International Association for Energy Economics presented him with its Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Profession.

Meredith Fowlie
University of California, Berkeley

Meredith Fowlie is a Professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics and holds the Class of 1935 Endowed Chair in Energy at UC Berkeley. She is a faculty director at the Energy Institute at Haas and a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Fowlie has worked extensively on the economics of energy markets and the environment. Her research investigates market-based environmental regulations, the economics of air pollution, electricity market regulation, and incomplete GHG regulations. She currently serves as a Governor-appointed member of California’s Independent Emissions Market Advisory Committee. She is a member of the Economic Advisory Council for Environmental Defense Fund, the advisory council to the Brookings Institution Center on Regulation and Markets, a Scientific Committee Member for the Chaire Economie du Climat, and the steering committee of the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), Environmental and Energy Economics Program.  Her work has appeared in the American Economic Review, the Journal of Political Economy, Quarterly Journal of Economics, and the Review of Economic Studies, among other leading journals. 

Sanjay J. Mullick
Kirkland & Ellis LLP, Washington D.C.

Sanjay J. Mullick is a Partner at Kirkland & Ellis LLP in Washington, DC.  Mr. Mullick advises companies, private equity sponsors, and financial institutions on export controls, national security supply chain controls, and economic sanctions risk assessment in conjunction with investments, offerings and mergers and acquisitions.  He also conducts internal investigations, handles voluntary self-disclosures, and designs and implements trade controls compliance programs. 

Mr. Mullick has represented U.S. companies and foreign governments in trade remedy proceedings, including antidumping and countervailing duty investigations and suspension agreements before the Department of Commerce, the International Trade Commission and the Court of International Trade. He has advised companies and governments in international arbitration and litigation, including dispute resolution proceedings under the investment provisions of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and bilateral investment treaties (BITs), administered under the rules of the International Center for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) and the United Nations Committee on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL).

Anna K. Fung, Q.C.
Deputy Chair and Commissioner, British Columbia Utilities Commission

Ms. Fung received her Bachelor of Laws Degree from the University of British Columbia and was called to the BC Bar in 1985.  Prior to joining the British Columbia Utilities Commission as a Commissioner, she spent more than 20 years practising law as corporate counsel, including 15 years as Senior Counsel at Terasen Inc. (now Fortis Inc.).  She was an elected Bencher of the BC Law Society for 10 years and served as President in 2007. She is the recipient of several awards including the R.V.A Jones Corporate Counsel Award, the BC Community Achievement Award, the YWCA Woman of Distinction Award and the UBC Law Alumni Achievement Award.  She also served as President of the Canadian Corporate Counsel Association, Association of Chinese Canadian Professionals, the People’s Law School and the BC Autism Association.  She authored several legal publications on corporate counsel practice and Indigenous law.

She has served as Director of the Vancouver Airport Authority, the Vancouver Foundation, the Law Foundation, the Continuing Legal Education Society and the Arts Club Theatre Society.  She is also the current Chair of the BC Unclaimed Property Society and a director of the UBC Alumni Association.